Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By mdavej
  • 1 Post By M Code
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-11-2019, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
John_McClane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: I'm a Michigan boy can you feel that!
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question Toggle 3 TVs with Receiver (same room) buying help

Reached out to a Crutchfield rep to help out and got nowhere. Hopefully, I can get some help here.

I run 3 TVs side by side in my man cave.

TV1 has an OTA antenna and internal smart TV features

TV2 has a PS4, Apple TV, and OTA antenna

TV3 has a Roku and Nintendo Switch

I am looking for a receiver that will easily allow me to toggle sound on/off from each of these TVs seamlessly. The guy at Crutchfield made it sound like a near impossible task without getting into a bunch of add on components.

Just starting to build my system because I cannot take another month with my soundbar. Any help here would be super helpful!
John_McClane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-11-2019, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,321
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2833 Post(s)
Liked: 1253
A little out of date, but the same idea:
http://afterconvert.com/forum/90-re...-solution.html
John_McClane likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-11-2019, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cocati, CA
Posts: 11,703
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1030 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Most likely all of your TVs have an optical audio output??
If the answer is YES...??
Since each TV has different sources, U need an AVR that has (3) optical inputs.
Note that most current AVRs just have (2) optical inputs but the older legacy AVRs typically have more..
Then just select the respective optical audio input for whatever TV U have playing...

Or another alternative is to use an optical switcher such as this one from Amazon.. Connect all (3) TV's optical outputs into this and then connect its output into the AVR's optical input..

http://www.amazon.com/eSynic-Switch...8-3&ref=sr_1_3

Next question...

Just my $0.02..
John_McClane likes this.
M Code is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 01-14-2019, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
John_McClane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: I'm a Michigan boy can you feel that!
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here is where I need someone to help me learn this stuff a little better...

An AVR with 7 HDMI inputs (Cable, DVD, Blue Ray, Game, Media, Aux2, CD) for example and then 3 outs (Zone2, Monitor 1ARC, Monitor2)

Couldn't I hook my PS4, Switch, Apple TV, Roku into some of those inputs and my TVs on the out? Doesn't make sense in my head but isn't that out they were designed?

I feel like I would have to use the optical for the TVs that run off the OTA antennas, which would be fine, since I only have two...

How far off am I here?
John_McClane is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-14-2019, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,321
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2833 Post(s)
Liked: 1253
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_McClane View Post
Here is where I need someone to help me learn this stuff a little better...

An AVR with 7 HDMI inputs (Cable, DVD, Blue Ray, Game, Media, Aux2, CD) for example and then 3 outs (Zone2, Monitor 1ARC, Monitor2)

Couldn't I hook my PS4, Switch, Apple TV, Roku into some of those inputs and my TVs on the out? Doesn't make sense in my head but isn't that out they were designed?

I feel like I would have to use the optical for the TVs that run off the OTA antennas, which would be fine, since I only have two...

How far off am I here?
Basically yes. As the linked thread says, you can do it with a 3 zone AVR or a Matrix switch. Thing is 3 zone AVRs can get expensive.

The optical solution is also valid and cheaper, but you lose some flexibility and possibly get limited to just DD5.1.

Many ways to skin this cat. You just need to decide how much flexibility you need and how much you're willing to spend.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
man cave , multiple screens



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off