Forum Jump: 
 2852Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4681 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 04:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Guys is the 4k roku streaming player with hdr and dolby vision better than the one that comes in the 6 series tv?

The OS looks low rez to me on the tcl tv 6 series. Would getting the roku 4k streamer be all 4k in the OS as well and snappier or better PQ
NJPapi1977 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4682 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post
It sounds like the 75 inch is the same except it will be a native 120hz panel according to cnet and rtings.

Will probably be my next tv if it's available in canada, vizio has not responded to me if it will be, want a decent 75 inch tv, but dont want to break the bank. Of course if I lived in america this would be less of an issue but everything is more expensive here.
From what I seen on their spec sheet for it it’s 120hz clear motion index or whatever they call it which to me indicates it’s a native 60hz panel.
acphydro is offline  
post #4683 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 06:48 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 34,484
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8435 Post(s)
Liked: 5324
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
Guys is the 4k roku streaming player with hdr and dolby vision better than the one that comes in the 6 series tv?

The OS looks low rez to me on the tcl tv 6 series. Would getting the roku 4k streamer be all 4k in the OS as well and snappier or better PQ
There is no external Roku with Dolby Vision. the only way to get Dolby Vision from Roku is with a DV TV that is using the Roku OS. Like the TCL. Otherwise, my HDR10 Rokus are very fast like the TCL Roku OS.
They behave basically the same way. The only difference is that the UI is in torch mode on the TCL and I don't have that issue from an external Roku.

My screens do not look like they are low rez sd. The UI on my TCL looks identical to my Roku Ultra and roku streaming stick plus. Except for the tuner options, Dolby Vision demos, etc.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 01-12-2019 at 06:53 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4684 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
There is no external Roku with Dolby Vision. the only way to get Dolby Vision from Roku is with a DV TV that is using the Roku OS. Like the TCL. Otherwise, my HDR10 Rokus are very fast like the TCL Roku OS.
They behave basically the same way. The only difference is that the UI is in torch mode on the TCL and I don't have that issue from an external Roku.

My screens do not look like they are low rez sd. The UI on my TCL looks identical to my Roku Ultra and roku streaming stick plus. Except for the tuner options, Dolby Vision demos, etc.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk
So in your opinion it would be a waste of 90 dollars to get the roku 4k player with HDR? over what I already have on the TCL 6 series tv? The low rez is on Netflix OS.

Thank you
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #4685 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 10:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone else know if the 55” has more DSE/Banding than the 65”? Since the 65” has 120 zones, does it help with Banding at all? If so I rather take home the 65” since my seating distance is about 10-11ft away. And that’s best for 65” at 4K.

If not then I’m just upping to the 55” X900F to save myself this hassle again
_TuRtS_ is offline  
post #4686 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
So in your opinion it would be a waste of 90 dollars to get the roku 4k player with HDR? over what I already have on the TCL 6 series tv? The low rez is on Netflix OS.

Thank you
Happy New Year Papi! now, i know how this is going to sound, but, don't take it the wrong way, but, did you buy the tv to watch movies, apps, sports and game so that they look their best and incorporate HDR/DV (where applicable) or did you buy the tv (or standalone player) because you want to look the Netflix (or any app) or Roku OS graphics?

again, not trying to piss you off so, please don't be. my answer, i bought the thing to do everything i mentioned in the first part of that. apps and anything on the screen that's just sitting still as a "selection" for me, i don't care what it looks like as long as when i click on netflix and select what i want to watch and it starts, then that's what i want to look good.

i respect if you don't see it that way.
ppasteur and Dollhands like this.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607.
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!

Last edited by solarrdadd; 01-12-2019 at 12:28 PM.
solarrdadd is offline  
post #4687 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by shesha View Post
I think I’m an idiot hahahaha I had the setting to turn off the tv after 4 hours automatically set to on. Hahahaha that’s why the tv would turn off.
it's still an issue with the 55 inch multiple people got reviews on best buy website. mine goes a couple weeks without doing it then it does it 3 to 5 times in a day...only does it when im on the hdmi with the xbox even if im not playing and its idle the tv will shut off every now and then
Bamaboi89 is offline  
post #4688 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 12:46 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 34,484
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8435 Post(s)
Liked: 5324
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
So in your opinion it would be a waste of 90 dollars to get the roku 4k player with HDR? over what I already have on the TCL 6 series tv? The low rez is on Netflix OS.

Thank you
I'm not seeing anything low rez from Netflix. All my 4K rokus look the same as the TCL. EXcept the TCL can access the DOlby vision content.
Is your TV using wireless or a wired connection? If wireless maybe it is not a good connection? Try using the slower wired connection on the TV is you are having issues on wireless.
I can stream my high bitrate UHD BD rips using the Plex app on my TCL TV as well as my external rokus. Whether wireless or wired.. But I have a wifi network setup so that my devices all have excellent signal strength, get their max speeds, and have no congestion issues.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #4689 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I'm not seeing anything low rez from Netflix. All my 4K rokus look the same as the TCL. EXcept the TCL can access the DOlby vision content.
Is your TV using wireless or a wired connection? If wireless maybe it is not a good connection? Try using the slower wired connection on the TV is you are having issues on wireless.
I can stream my high bitrate UHD BD rips using the Plex app on my TCL TV as well as my external rokus. Whether wireless or wired.. But I have a wifi network setup so that my devices all have excellent signal strength, get their max speeds, and have no congestion issues.
i swear if i didn't know any better, i'd say he was talking about the Netflix "desktop/interface" that once you get into netflix you see previews and various selections of things to watch. that's my best guess since he hasn't responded.

believe it or not, i have seen other people complain about how the Roku OS "desktop/interface" looks low rez to them.

we will have to wait until Popi responds. but, i think he means what i said.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607.
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #4690 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 01:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2295 Post(s)
Liked: 1888
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
i swear if i didn't know any better, i'd say he was talking about the Netflix "desktop/interface" that once you get into netflix you see previews and various selections of things to watch. that's my best guess since he hasn't responded.

believe it or not, i have seen other people complain about how the Roku OS "desktop/interface" looks low rez to them.

we will have to wait until Popi responds. but, i think he means what i said.

That's how I'm reading it also.

LG 65B8 - Primary
LG 55EG9100 - Bedroom
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)
venus933 is offline  
post #4691 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Yes guys the low rez is on the Netflix OS when scrolling tiles of shows or movies, I am use to having high rez when viewing it from Samsung QLED or LG OLED OS

The ROKU OS is fine, its just the APPS in the OS have low rez tiles which when you are use to having high rez tiles it sucks to see them like that

When the movie or show starts it is perfect

I just wondered if the ROKU 4K streaming box with an HDMI port actually has high rez all through out...

I even read a review of the TCL 6 series that mentioned that the OS is not 4k or even high rez
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #4692 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 03:02 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 34,484
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8435 Post(s)
Liked: 5324
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
Yes guys the low rez is on the Netflix OS when scrolling tiles of shows or movies, I am use to having high rez when viewing it from Samsung QLED or LG OLED OS

The ROKU OS is fine, its just the APPS in the OS have low rez tiles which when you are use to having high rez tiles it sucks to see them like that

When the movie or show starts it is perfect

I just wondered if the ROKU 4K streaming box with an HDMI port actually has high rez all through out...

I even read a review of the TCL 6 series that mentioned that the OS is not 4k or even high rez
What do you mean when you say low rez? Low rez to me is SD. And the Netflix UI is at least in a flavor of HD.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #4693 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 03:03 PM
Senior Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 98
that's probably true about the tiles, but, i'm willing to bet, most people don't care and just want the content to look good at the resolution it's supposed to or gets uprez'd too.

exactly how much time do you spend looking at the tiles? i'm not trying to be funny but, your the first one who ever suggested possibly buying another device to potentially get better looking/hi-rez tiles. i guess they really mean a lot to you and bother you when you see them in relation to what you got with a different brand/OS.

do you still have the Sammy or the LG? i can tell you that this issue is not even on TCL's radar of things to change at least, not that they have shared with us thus far.

best of luck Papi.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607.
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #4694 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2295 Post(s)
Liked: 1888
It's not a big deal but then again it doesn't sound like it would be that big of a deal to fix it with a firmware update either.

LG 65B8 - Primary
LG 55EG9100 - Bedroom
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)
venus933 is offline  
post #4695 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 98
a whole lot of people (and i mean a whole lot) need to contact TCL and put this in the suggestion box. i suspect that's not happening. also, if sales started dropping with many people saying that's why they were going to competitors then, i would see that happening.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607.
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #4696 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 05:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2295 Post(s)
Liked: 1888
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
a whole lot of people (and i mean a whole lot) need to contact TCL and put this in the suggestion box. i suspect that's not happening. also, if sales started dropping with many people saying that's why they were going to competitors then, i would see that happening.
I don't see folks in any significant numbers going elsewhere based upon the sharpness of icons from the OS (why would you come to that conclusion?), quite to the contrary as the Roku OS overall is top notch for the number of apps and the apps that support HDR and Dolby Vision. i.e. it's a notable selling point of TCL televisions.
aaronwt, lynesjc and Makaveli6103 like this.

LG 65B8 - Primary
LG 55EG9100 - Bedroom
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)

Last edited by venus933; 01-12-2019 at 05:25 PM.
venus933 is offline  
post #4697 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post
I don't see folks in any significant numbers going elsewhere based upon the sharpness of icons from the OS (why would you come to that conclusion?), quite to the contrary as the Roku OS overall is top notch for the number of apps and the apps that support HDR and Dolby Vision. i.e. it's a notable selling point of TCL televisions.
obviously you missed my point, i thought i worded it well. i never said people were actually leaving in significant numbrs. i was saying the only way TCL would put this as a priority is if they started losing sales because of it. of course, how likely is that. i'm sorry, i though i made the point clear as i said in the post of mine you quoted "IF(if) sales started dropping with many people saying that's why they were going to competitors then, i would see that happening."

i think i'm gonna leave this alone, i don't want to take over the thread with the subject matter.
venus933 likes this.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607.
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #4698 of 4799 Old 01-12-2019, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Roku OS looks and feels fine to me. I could care less about it’s sharpness or lack of, all I care about is how good the content being viewed looks and to me it looks fantastic. I suppose I could complain to TCL though just because although I don’t see a need.
acphydro is offline  
post #4699 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by acphydro View Post
Roku OS looks and feels fine to me. I could care less about it’s sharpness or lack of, all I care about is how good the content being viewed looks and to me it looks fantastic. I suppose I could complain to TCL though just because although I don’t see a need.
Why do people think they need to inject how much they do not care about something someone else asked about. Fantastic that you do not care, I never said it was a deal breaker.

Different strokes for different folks

I would like having a 4k tv with 4k movies and 4k gaming and having apps in low rez bothers me a bit but not to the point of getting people to act like I demanded change.

Xbox netflix app is high resolution so sorry I expect the one in Roku to look the same
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #4700 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
Why do people think they need to inject how much they do not care about something someone else asked about. Fantastic that you do not care, I never said it was a deal breaker.

Different strokes for different folks

I would like having a 4k tv with 4k movies and 4k gaming and having apps in low rez bothers me a bit but not to the point of getting people to act like I demanded change.

Xbox netflix app is high resolution so sorry I expect the one in Roku to look the same
I’m simply stating my opinion and viewpoint and offered to complain to TCL anyway to assist others like yourself get a resolution. My post wasn’t intended to be offensive as it appears you’ve deemed it to be.

Simply stating that I don’t care how it looks so long as the content being viewed looks great, which it does. I understand what you’re saying it’s just that it probably won’t be a priority for them since the general consumer won’t and doesn’t care about this type of thing.
acphydro is offline  
post #4701 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by acphydro View Post
I’m simply stating my opinion and viewpoint and offered to complain to TCL anyway to assist others like yourself get a resolution. My post wasn’t intended to be offensive as it appears you’ve deemed it to be.

Simply stating that I don’t care how it looks so long as the content being viewed looks great, which it does. I understand what you’re saying it’s just that it probably won’t be a priority for them since the general consumer won’t and doesn’t care about this type of thing.

I think Netflix is responsible for designing their apps and updating them. So maybe anyone worried about this needs to communicate their concerns to them.
I have to say that when I read the OP complaint I thought that it is a pretty minor thing. Sort of an OCD, or anal retentive symptom (but then many on these forums show similar symptoms, just maybe on subjects more impactful to overall performance). I don't really even look critically at the app UIs. If they get me where I need to go with a minimum of hassle, they are fine. I sure don't leave the UI sitting up there so I can impress my friends with the quality of picture that my TV can produce.


Indeed, different strokes .. but I agree the average user probably doesn't much care, so neither TCL not Netflix will likely make changing this aspect a priority. It could be wise to spend the mental energy used worrying about this on something more productive. This intended to only be advice offered out of kindness.


IIRC my Roku Ultra shows the Netflix UI the same as the R617. As a Shield is available, why not use that if it is more satisfying?

Last edited by ppasteur; 01-13-2019 at 09:41 AM.
ppasteur is offline  
post #4702 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
So I started noticing some dark horizontal lines, probably DSE, only on certain backrounds (light beige to light blue, etc). I think it only happens with HDR/DV, and it's starting to get quite distracting. It only shows up mostly in indoor scenes, like in a bedroom, and it happens to be beige.


What's disappointing is that I'm past the BB return by date. What are my options if I want to try and get this fixed?
ownjah is offline  
post #4703 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 10:16 AM
Member
 
mediaseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took one home yesterday.

Very nice for the price, even if the dim corners distracted me now and then. However, my Roku ULTRA is better than what's baked in there.

I have to bring it back today for two reasons, though:

1. The bracket stand looks just fine, but is too wide a stance for my current a/v furniture, and my wife would rather me not replace the a/v furniture. Wall mounting is not an option. Our previous panel had a stand supporting it in the center, so overhanging on the the sides was not an issue.

2. Nothing to do with the TCL, but my wife likes to sit on the floor in front of the tv, and.. well.. 65 is too big for that! I need to find a 55 with a center stand, or I'll have to figure out the furniture problem, I'm afraid!

If you don't have the issues I have, and you probably don't, this TCL is a bargain... only flaw is dim corners, or if you sit at an angle to it, which we don't.
mediaseth is offline  
post #4704 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2295 Post(s)
Liked: 1888
Quote:
Originally Posted by mediaseth View Post
I took one home yesterday.

Very nice for the price, even if the dim corners distracted me now and then. However, my Roku ULTRA is better than what's baked in there.

I have to bring it back today for two reasons, though:

1. The bracket stand looks just fine, but is too wide a stance for my current a/v furniture, and my wife would rather me not replace the a/v furniture. Wall mounting is not an option. Our previous panel had a stand supporting it in the center, so overhanging on the the sides was not an issue.

2. Nothing to do with the TCL, but my wife likes to sit on the floor in front of the tv, and.. well.. 65 is too big for that! I need to find a 55 with a center stand, or I'll have to figure out the furniture problem, I'm afraid!

If you don't have the issues I have, and you probably don't, this TCL is a bargain... only flaw is dim corners, or if you sit at an angle to it, which we don't.

It's possible to invert the legs inward.

LG 65B8 - Primary
LG 55EG9100 - Bedroom
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)
venus933 is offline  
post #4705 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 10:30 AM
Member
 
mediaseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried

Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post
It's possible to invert the legs inward.
I tried! It seemed there was a plastic bit in the way. However, EVEN with the legs inward, they're too wide for the 65" panel.. so I would have to turn the 55's inward. My tapered a/v stand goes from 40" to 30" wide.
mediaseth is offline  
post #4706 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alabama (36093)
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsteve View Post
Best Buy has the 65" on sale at a good price.




Yep. Bought mine Tuesday at the regular price and called today and they refunded me the price difference! A great TV at an even now better price!

I still wish I could figure out why I’m having Wi-Fi issues since I bought this TV though. I’ve done all the troubleshooting and it still comes back to this TV. Otherwise, this has been a great purchase


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

My setup: TCL 4K 65" R617 w/ Sony UBP-X700, Tivo Bolt 4k, Sony HT-NT5 Soundbar w/ rear wireless speakers. TCL 4K 43" S405 w/ Sony UBP-X800, Tivo Mini 4k and Vizio Sound stand.
jtrippe is offline  
post #4707 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 2,345
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1130 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by mediaseth View Post
I took one home yesterday.

Very nice for the price, even if the dim corners distracted me now and then. However, my Roku ULTRA is better than what's baked in there.

I have to bring it back today for two reasons, though:

1. The bracket stand looks just fine, but is too wide a stance for my current a/v furniture, and my wife would rather me not replace the a/v furniture. Wall mounting is not an option. Our previous panel had a stand supporting it in the center, so overhanging on the the sides was not an issue.

2. Nothing to do with the TCL, but my wife likes to sit on the floor in front of the tv, and.. well.. 65 is too big for that! I need to find a 55 with a center stand, or I'll have to figure out the furniture problem, I'm afraid!

If you don't have the issues I have, and you probably don't, this TCL is a bargain... only flaw is dim corners, or if you sit at an angle to it, which we don't.
Lots of 3rd party, center stands that mount to the “wall mount” threads in back of any TV.
laserjock II is offline  
post #4708 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
Lots of 3rd party, center stands that mount to the “wall mount” threads in back of any TV.

Beat me to it.
I bought one of these:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


I needed the center mount and to allow an 8.5" high center channel speaker under the TV. It works perfectly for this. It is quite sturdy and the black glass base is unobtrusive.
ppasteur is offline  
post #4709 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2295 Post(s)
Liked: 1888
But in this case these 3rd party solutions are not necessary if mediaseth decides to get the 55" TV.

Footprint of the legs if reversed is 28.5" x 10.6 for the 55" model.



LG 65B8 - Primary
LG 55EG9100 - Bedroom
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)
venus933 is offline  
post #4710 of 4799 Old 01-13-2019, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post
But in this case these 3rd party solutions are not necessary if mediaseth decides to get the 55" TV.

Footprint of the legs if reversed is 28.5" x 10.6 for the 55" model.


I guess that would depend on the size of the base he wants to put it on...
In my case I still did not have the width for the set with the legs reversed. Certainly not the height I needed for the center channel.
BTW mine IS the 55"
ppasteur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
6-series , tcl



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off