Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 2898 Old 10-17-2010, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
colofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: loveland,co
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are you saying that I can take the drive out of my BDP-S1 install it in my computer as a BD read/writable drive?
colofan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 2898 Old 10-17-2010, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
rdodolak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You should be able to ... it's an internal BD drive; the same model was sold by Pioneer as a drive for computers. I don't remember what the interface is though ... it may be an IDE. I'll see if I still have some pics I took from way back then.
rdodolak is offline  
post #2883 of 2898 Old 10-18-2010, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Donnie Eldridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdodolak View Post

You should be able to ... it's an internal BD drive; the same model was sold by Pioneer as a drive for computers. I don't remember what the interface is though ... it may be an IDE. I'll see if I still have some pics I took from way back then.

Yes, it's an IDE interface.
Donnie Eldridge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2884 of 2898 Old 10-18-2010, 10:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mike-tee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Island that's Long
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@colofan

The BDP-S1 drive is a Pioneer drive and will work in your PC. As already stated, it is an IDE drive that will easily connect. This is what shows up in Nero InfoTool (PIONEER BD-RWBDR-101AX 1.08 07/04/05PIONEER) and it's listed as a BD Rewriter. However, although Nero info and other programs will recognize it as a read/write drive, it cannot write. Most likely, this is due to the firmware installed on the drive to block it's writing ability.

I am currently using my BDP-S1 drive primarily to rip files to my HD and it does a real fine job.

Mike T

My BDP-05FD, still going strong and still my favorite player!

mike-tee is offline  
post #2885 of 2898 Old 10-19-2010, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
colofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: loveland,co
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay so the writing function is not available unless there is a download from pioneer to enable this function....thanks all for the input.
colofan is offline  
post #2886 of 2898 Old 10-19-2010, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
colofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: loveland,co
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it possible to download the pioneer firmware and "convert" the drive to a pioneer 101A ?
colofan is offline  
post #2887 of 2898 Old 10-19-2010, 11:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mike-tee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Island that's Long
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by colofan View Post

Is it possible to download the pioneer firmware and "convert" the drive to a pioneer 101A ?

No, I tried applying the actual Pio 101A firmware and it didn't take. I believe that Sony may have somehow locked the drive to prevent this but it's possible that a "hacked" firmware may exist somewhere. I also did some minimal searching about 6 months ago for any "alternative" firmware and came up empty.

If you are able to find something, please post it here.

Mike T

My BDP-05FD, still going strong and still my favorite player!

mike-tee is offline  
post #2888 of 2898 Old 01-20-2011, 09:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
yrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I must say this player has fantastic up conversion. I've used some supposedly good players for upconversion before, the Toshiba HD-A1, the Samsung BD-UP5000, this one still bests them all. Tried watching my old Devil's Advocate DVD on the Panasonic today, looked all blurry and poor, tossed it on the BDP-S1 looks clean and crisp, almost well enough to suffice until they finally release the Blu-ray.

The difference is so great that I'm actually considering buying a used one strictly for DVD viewing over the BD-UP5000. Anyone else feel the same about this one?
yrly is offline  
post #2889 of 2898 Old 04-17-2011, 09:59 PM
Senior Member
 
jwstegbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 121
New Version 5.60 is now available:

http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu-list.pl?mdl=BDPS1

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Harman Kardon PA-2200 Amp | Panamax MR4300 | Apple Tv 4K
Sony Receiver STR-ZA3100ES | Sony UBP-X700 | Oppo UDP -203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
4 - Klipsch RP-250F Floorstanding Speaker | Klipsch RP-240S Surround Speaker (Pair) | Klipsch RP-440C Center Channel Speaker
Klipsch R-112SW Sub | Klipsch RP-140SA Dolby Atmos Speaker (Pair) | Playstation 4 Pro
jwstegbauer is offline  
post #2890 of 2898 Old 04-20-2011, 02:14 AM
Senior Member
 
NovaKane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, jwstegbauer. I'll be ordering a copy of the disc from Sony in the near future.
NovaKane is offline  
post #2891 of 2898 Old 12-12-2011, 06:35 PM
Member
 
GhostBatoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any idea if there is a way to change the color of the pillar-bars (which display during a 1.33:1 film) from gray to black?
GhostBatoh is offline  
post #2892 of 2898 Old 01-09-2019, 04:19 PM
Member
 
Mike Brantley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Boom! Posting here resurrects a blast from the past, no doubt. Now, I have several Blu-ray players, from years old to pretty new. But I just added this "antique" to my collection and set it up in my computer room for the express purpose of consuming commentary tracks while I am in here. I would have already watched the main feature on the projection screen in the other room.

But.... I cannot for the life of my get anything to display from the HDMI or component outputs. The player does output via the composite output, so I have used it with an old CRT I have in here. But trying it on three different monitors with HDMI and one with component, I get nothing but a black screen. I've tried to change to output format to everything from 480i to 1080p.

The old BDP-S1 may be defective, as I've also tried with different cables and different discs.

Yet, I thought I would post in here in case I am missing something obvious. The machine is beautiful, so it'll be a shame if it no longer performs its intended function of playing HD content in HD. Help!
Mike Brantley is offline  
post #2893 of 2898 Old 01-09-2019, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
jwstegbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 121
About indicators for HDMI connection
After the player is turned on, the HD indicator on the front panel
lights up when outputting 720p/1080i/1080p video signals. The
HDMI indicator lights up when an HDMI device is connected.

Hope this helps...

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Harman Kardon PA-2200 Amp | Panamax MR4300 | Apple Tv 4K
Sony Receiver STR-ZA3100ES | Sony UBP-X700 | Oppo UDP -203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
4 - Klipsch RP-250F Floorstanding Speaker | Klipsch RP-240S Surround Speaker (Pair) | Klipsch RP-440C Center Channel Speaker
Klipsch R-112SW Sub | Klipsch RP-140SA Dolby Atmos Speaker (Pair) | Playstation 4 Pro
jwstegbauer is offline  
post #2894 of 2898 Old 01-09-2019, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Mike Brantley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwstegbauer View Post
About indicators for HDMI connection
After the player is turned on, the HD indicator on the front panel
lights up when outputting 720p/1080i/1080p video signals. The
HDMI indicator lights up when an HDMI device is connected.

Hope this helps...
Thanks for that quick reply. Those display lights work properly and just as you say, but the image on the three monitors I've tried remains completely black when connected via HDMI or component, even when the HD and HDMI indicators light up. Still a mystery.
Mike Brantley is offline  
post #2895 of 2898 Old 01-09-2019, 07:16 PM
Member
 
nguyendot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Brantley View Post
Thanks for that quick reply. Those display lights work properly and just as you say, but the image on the three monitors I've tried remains completely black when connected via HDMI or component, even when the HD and HDMI indicators light up. Still a mystery.
These were known for developing a faulty hdmi connection. Mine had to be sent back to be repaired within a year of purchasing mine.
nguyendot is offline  
post #2896 of 2898 Old 01-09-2019, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
jwstegbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Under Video Setup Have you selected....

YCbCr / RGBPC (HDMI) Y, Cb, Cr
–Select this when connecting to an HDMI device.
RGB (16-235)
–Select this if colors appear overly rich when set to “RGB (0-255).”
RGB (0-255)
–Gives brighter colors and deeper black. Select this if colors are weak.
–Select the type of output from the HDMI
OUT jack.

24p Output On
–Sends 1920 × 1080p/24 Hz video signals when playing Film-based materials on BDROMs
(720p/24 Hz or 1080p/24 Hz). Select this when the connection applies.
Off
–Select this for any other connection.
–For connection to a 1080/24p-compatible TV
using the HDMI OUT jack.

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Harman Kardon PA-2200 Amp | Panamax MR4300 | Apple Tv 4K
Sony Receiver STR-ZA3100ES | Sony UBP-X700 | Oppo UDP -203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
4 - Klipsch RP-250F Floorstanding Speaker | Klipsch RP-240S Surround Speaker (Pair) | Klipsch RP-440C Center Channel Speaker
Klipsch R-112SW Sub | Klipsch RP-140SA Dolby Atmos Speaker (Pair) | Playstation 4 Pro
jwstegbauer is offline  
post #2897 of 2898 Old 01-09-2019, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
jwstegbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 121
To set the video output resolution
Press VIDEO FORMAT repeatedly to select the desired resolution. Note that the resolution differs depending on the display device,
connecting jack and the source material as below.

*1 Outputs in the same resolution and frequency as recorded on the disc.
*2 1080/24p video signals are not output from the COMPONENT VIDEO OUT jacks.
*3 Outputs in the resolution of the original setting (720p or 1080i) when the DVD is not copy guarded.
Notes
• If the picture is not clear, natural or to your satisfaction, try another resolution that suits the disc and your TV/projector, etc. For the details, refer also
to the instruction manual supplied with the TV/projector, etc.
• 480i or 480p video signals may be output when connecting to the COMPONENT VIDEO OUT jacks and play some copy-guarded BDs/DVDs. To
enjoy the HD quality resolution in this case, connect the display device to the HDMI OUT jack using an HDMI cord.
• Even when you select a setting other than “AUTO,” the player automatically adjusts the video signals if the TV cannot accept the set resolution.
To output the 1080/24p video signals
A 1080/24p-compatible TV is required, or the player outputs in 60 Hz, not in 24 Hz.
1 Set “24p Output” in “Video Setup” to “On” (as above).
2 Press VIDEO FORMAT repeatedly to select “Auto” or “Direct.”
HDMI OUT COMPONENT VIDEO OUT VIDEO/S VIDEO
Auto Automatically selects the highest
resolution acceptable for your TV.

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Harman Kardon PA-2200 Amp | Panamax MR4300 | Apple Tv 4K
Sony Receiver STR-ZA3100ES | Sony UBP-X700 | Oppo UDP -203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
4 - Klipsch RP-250F Floorstanding Speaker | Klipsch RP-240S Surround Speaker (Pair) | Klipsch RP-440C Center Channel Speaker
Klipsch R-112SW Sub | Klipsch RP-140SA Dolby Atmos Speaker (Pair) | Playstation 4 Pro
jwstegbauer is offline  
post #2898 of 2898 Old 01-11-2019, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Mike Brantley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwstegbauer View Post
To set the video output resolution
Press VIDEO FORMAT repeatedly to select the desired resolution. Note that the resolution differs depending on the display device,
connecting jack and the source material as below.

*1 Outputs in the same resolution and frequency as recorded on the disc.
*2 1080/24p video signals are not output from the COMPONENT VIDEO OUT jacks.
*3 Outputs in the resolution of the original setting (720p or 1080i) when the DVD is not copy guarded.
Notes
• If the picture is not clear, natural or to your satisfaction, try another resolution that suits the disc and your TV/projector, etc. For the details, refer also
to the instruction manual supplied with the TV/projector, etc.
• 480i or 480p video signals may be output when connecting to the COMPONENT VIDEO OUT jacks and play some copy-guarded BDs/DVDs. To
enjoy the HD quality resolution in this case, connect the display device to the HDMI OUT jack using an HDMI cord.
• Even when you select a setting other than “AUTO,” the player automatically adjusts the video signals if the TV cannot accept the set resolution.
To output the 1080/24p video signals
A 1080/24p-compatible TV is required, or the player outputs in 60 Hz, not in 24 Hz.
1 Set “24p Output” in “Video Setup” to “On” (as above).
2 Press VIDEO FORMAT repeatedly to select “Auto” or “Direct.”
HDMI OUT COMPONENT VIDEO OUT VIDEO/S VIDEO
Auto Automatically selects the highest
resolution acceptable for your TV.
Thanks, folks, for the information. It all matches my understanding of the machine perfectly. I was hoping I was missing something obvious, but perhaps the HDMI output is buggered on this particular unit. Not sure why nothing works from component output, but I've only tried that with one monitor.

I have some nice old Ikegami, Sony and JVC broadcast and production CRT monitors from dear old NTSC days, so watching 480 from this player on one of these old displays is not bad at all when the purpose is merely to listen to commentary tracks and watch the extras from my Blu-rays. Somehow, I never get around to doing that in my more proper screening room with the 1080p DLP projector and big ol' screen.

BDP-S1 sure is a pretty thing, though. My newest Blu-ray player is a little Panasonic that is multi-region but is small, plastic, cheap looking and operating and doesn't even have a front display. Then again, it works and is quick. Heh.
Mike Brantley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off