Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 146 Old 02-26-2018, 08:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,071
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1861 Post(s)
Liked: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooseehead View Post
Having an audio problem with the 875. Maybe im having a senior moment.

If I select dts-re encode My receiver, yamaha v677, plays 5.1.
I can only get 2.0 if I select PCM. I thought that PCM sends the uncompressed original audio to the receiver.

Am thinking the backwards?
I don't think this player can internally decode and send multi-channel audio. But I may be wrong.
Just check the manual and it should have some info.
aaranddeeman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 146 Old 02-27-2018, 05:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 4,826
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2846 Post(s)
Liked: 1528
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
I don't think this player can internally decode and send multi-channel audio. But I may be wrong.
Just check the manual and it should have some info.
I'm not sure either. If your read the "tech specs" it's a list of what disks it can read and audio formats it plays.

http://www.lg.com/us/support/product...ec-Sheet-2.pdf

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red, Bluesound Vault2, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Desktop: Bluesound Powernode 2, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b. Guest room: Hafler 200 L-R, KEF reference Model 100 center, KEF iQ10 surrounds, M&K V-90 sub.

Last edited by KenM10759; 02-27-2018 at 05:05 AM.
KenM10759 is offline  
post #63 of 146 Old 02-27-2018, 01:38 PM
Member
 
atfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boiling Springs, South Carolina USA
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooseehead View Post
Having an audio problem with the 875. Maybe im having a senior moment.

If I select dts-re encode My receiver, yamaha v677, plays 5.1.
I can only get 2.0 if I select PCM. I thought that PCM sends the uncompressed original audio to the receiver.

Am thinking the backwards?
I have mine set on "auto" and it seems to work fine. When playing blu-rays I get DTS HD Master Audio through my soundbar.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Vizio M50-E1 (2017)
LG UBK90 UHD Blu-Ray Player
Nakamichi 7.1 Pro DTS:X Soundbar
Directv Genie
atfree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 146 Old 02-27-2018, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
mooseehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
I don't think this player can internally decode and send multi-channel audio. But I may be wrong.
Just check the manual and it should have some info.
I thought that dts re encode meant that the player decodes/encodes the audio and send it out. Same thing as bitstream.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
mooseehead is offline  
post #65 of 146 Old 02-27-2018, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
mooseehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenM10759 View Post
I'm not sure either. If your read the "tech specs" it's a list of what disks it can read and audio formats it plays.

http://www.lg.com/us/support/product...ec-Sheet-2.pdf
Dolby TrueHD Yes

Dolby Digital Plus Yes

Dolby Digital Yes

Dolby Atmos Yes

DTS Yes

DTS-HD Master Audio Yes



Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
mooseehead is offline  
post #66 of 146 Old 02-27-2018, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 12,918
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1149 Post(s)
Liked: 1911
If you look at page 49 of the user manual, this series will only internally decode to 2 channel PCM. You should be bitstreaming to your receiver.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #67 of 146 Old 02-28-2018, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
mooseehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
If you look at page 49 of the user manual, this series will only internally decode to 2 channel PCM. You should be bitstreaming to your receiver.

S~
Thank you. I missed that in the manual.
So according to that, I want auto as that does trueHD.
They could have named the option easier to understand.

Thanks a lot.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
mooseehead is offline  
post #68 of 146 Old 03-05-2018, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
jchas41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I picked up the 870 during the Walmart clearance and while I love how quick and responsive it is, there are two things driving me crazy. First, I see no way to disable Simplink which has proven to be a major PITA for me. I have all my cables run through the wall and into the basement where they terminate into an AV closet. Unfortunately, I failed to run an optical cable figuring I would use ARC. With the Simplink unable to be turned off, anytime I turn on my system with my harmony elite it wants to switch inputs to my UP870. Extremely annoying and I can't figure out a way to correct it. Secondly, I have recently had some issues with the player rebooting during playback. Happened twice last night while watching Doctor Strange 3d. It was a brand new disc so I'm not sure what's up with it but hoping it was just a fluke.
jchas41 is offline  
post #69 of 146 Old 03-11-2018, 10:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I'm having problems with this player:
1. The player sometimes freezes and I have to unplug it to reboot it.
2. Playing Thor Ragnarok 4K I get no signal to my center channel (with both English audio options). No problems with other sources.

My setup is

870 -> LG E7 -> Denon X2400H

Is anyone having similar problems or did I get a dud?
Frenet is offline  
post #70 of 146 Old 03-12-2018, 05:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 4,826
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2846 Post(s)
Liked: 1528
I have the UP875 and for the first time played a 4K disk. When I started it, the player just loaded up fast and began playing, my NAD T758 displayed "DTS Master Audio". Worked fabulously.
atfree likes this.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red, Bluesound Vault2, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Desktop: Bluesound Powernode 2, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b. Guest room: Hafler 200 L-R, KEF reference Model 100 center, KEF iQ10 surrounds, M&K V-90 sub.
KenM10759 is offline  
post #71 of 146 Old 03-15-2018, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
markg35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 206
I purchased an UP870 during the Walmart sale.It has been a problem from the time I inserted a disc.
After inserting John Wick 2 UHD, I was greeted with what sounded like the player eating the disc.A grinding spinning(think food processor)noise.I hit stop a number of time fearing the disc was gone forever.I was finally able to eject it, disc is fine.Tried another disc, thinking it could be the Wick disc.Same result.

I called LG,reported the problem, the tech had me replicate the scenario.Same result, they emailed me a shipping label.I sent the player in to be fixed,replaced or whatever.It came back Tuesday.I hooked it up today, guess what, same grinding noise.

LG is sending me another shipping label.I'd really be upset if I paid more than a dinner for 5 at In&Out Burger.
Hopefully it works this time.When I talk to them, I'm going to ask for an extension on the warranty, since it's been in their shop the whole time.
markg35 is offline  
post #72 of 146 Old 03-16-2018, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
mooseehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by markg35 View Post
I purchased an UP870 during the Walmart sale.It has been a problem from the time I inserted a disc.
After inserting John Wick 2 UHD, I was greeted with what sounded like the player eating the disc.A grinding spinning(think food processor)noise.I hit stop a number of time fearing the disc was gone forever.I was finally able to eject it, disc is fine.Tried another disc, thinking it could be the Wick disc.Same result.

I called LG,reported the problem, the tech had me replicate the scenario.Same result, they emailed me a shipping label.I sent the player in to be fixed,replaced or whatever.It came back Tuesday.I hooked it up today, guess what, same grinding noise.

LG is sending me another shipping label.I'd really be upset if I paid more than a dinner for 5 at In&Out Burger.
Hopefully it works this time.When I talk to them, I'm going to ask for an extension on the warranty, since it's been in their shop the whole time.
How long ago did you buy it. You might be better off returning it to Wal-Mart for exchange.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
mooseehead is offline  
post #73 of 146 Old 03-16-2018, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
markg35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooseehead View Post
How long ago did you buy it. You might be better off returning it to Wal-Mart for exchange.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
I bought it January 18th.It was one of the last ones at the Walmart's in my area.For the price I paid, I'd rather try to get LG to fix it.
markg35 is offline  
post #74 of 146 Old 03-17-2018, 06:33 AM
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
i just bought a 875 at bb..playing planet earth 2 it froze a few minutes in...i got it to unfreeze by playing around with the fast forward. is this a known issue? or should i exchange/return it?
1python1 is offline  
post #75 of 146 Old 03-17-2018, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 4,826
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2846 Post(s)
Liked: 1528
I've only got about 6 to 8 hours of play on my UP875 but haven't seen any issues at all. Flawless.

Reboot (unplug from power, wait 30 seconds) and see if that helps. If not, return it and exchange for another. Or upgrade.
atfree likes this.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red, Bluesound Vault2, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Desktop: Bluesound Powernode 2, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b. Guest room: Hafler 200 L-R, KEF reference Model 100 center, KEF iQ10 surrounds, M&K V-90 sub.
KenM10759 is offline  
post #76 of 146 Old 03-17-2018, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
mooseehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Havnt tried any 4k yet but no problems yet. Just the ugly ui.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
mooseehead is offline  
post #77 of 146 Old 03-17-2018, 04:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 4,826
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2846 Post(s)
Liked: 1528
I don't recall the user interface being ugly, but probably because I only see it for a couple seconds before the movie starts playing.
atfree likes this.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red, Bluesound Vault2, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Desktop: Bluesound Powernode 2, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b. Guest room: Hafler 200 L-R, KEF reference Model 100 center, KEF iQ10 surrounds, M&K V-90 sub.
KenM10759 is offline  
post #78 of 146 Old 03-17-2018, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
mooseehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Maybe not ugly. Just plain. I'm used to don't sony.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
mooseehead is offline  
post #79 of 146 Old 03-19-2018, 10:06 AM
Member
 
atfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boiling Springs, South Carolina USA
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooseehead View Post
Maybe not ugly. Just plain. I'm used to don't sony.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
The interface is plain on the UP875, but there's not a lot to dress-up....it's a basic player, so settings, software updates, disc menu is about all there needs to be. I love that the UI is simple, gets the disc playing very fast.
atfree is offline  
post #80 of 146 Old 03-25-2018, 08:58 AM
Newbie
 
StuartTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried mine for the first time this morning. The instructions in the manual seem very simple for controlling a Samsung TV with the remote- but I can’t get it to work. My TV is a fairly new 82” UHD model (8000 series) but I can’t seem to get it. Just hold the TV Power button on the remote and press 6, then release both buttons. The other option is “TV Power + 7”. Seems simple, but not working. Any tips?
StuartTX is offline  
post #81 of 146 Old 03-26-2018, 08:08 AM
Member
 
stonewahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
This thread is barely 5 months old and there are only 80 posts about this player. Can I assume this is a decent unit with relatively minor issues and everyone is enjoying their player?

Also, do any of you have this hooked up to a 65x900e? What HDMI port do you have it hooked to? I currently have my cable box running into Port 4 with ARC Port 3 running to/from my Sony 1040 (non 2.2 4K compliant) with an old Sony S590 BD player running through it for DTS-HD sound and then a Roku stick+ in Port 2. Any response would help...

Last edited by teachsac; 03-26-2018 at 08:26 AM. Reason: Edited for deals talk outside of the deal's area
stonewahl is offline  
post #82 of 146 Old 03-26-2018, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 4,826
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2846 Post(s)
Liked: 1528
I like mine but keep in mind that I'm a very casual, infrequent movie watcher. I don't know what a "65x900e" might be, sorry.

Mine is connected to a simple HDMI3 port on my NAD T758 receiver. My cable box is in the ARC/CEC port HDMI1. I have a Logitec Harmony Elite remote now to touch one button and it does everything short of loading the disk in the player. This player replaced a Sony BDP-S480 and loads far faster than the Sony.

When I play music the receiver is not using any aspect of the HDMI ports. My Bluesound Vault 2 is connected via analog inputs, the Bluesound "BlueOS kit" internal to the T758 was added later, but does send a static video image of the album artwork to the TV via the HDMI output. I rarely use it because I prefer the option of going direct 2.0 (no sub) by virtue of the Vault 2 being analog in.

This player will suit me well in a month or so when I add the MDC module AM230 to make the AVR be a full NAD T758v3 and have 5.1.2 Atmos with the KEF R50's I have in a box right now.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red, Bluesound Vault2, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Desktop: Bluesound Powernode 2, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b. Guest room: Hafler 200 L-R, KEF reference Model 100 center, KEF iQ10 surrounds, M&K V-90 sub.
KenM10759 is offline  
post #83 of 146 Old 03-26-2018, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Zoland2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonewahl View Post
This thread is barely 5 months old and there are only 80 posts about this player. Can I assume this is a decent unit with relatively minor issues and everyone is enjoying their player?

Also, do any of you have this hooked up to a 65x900e? What HDMI port do you have it hooked to? I currently have my cable box running into Port 4 with ARC Port 3 running to/from my Sony 1040 (non 2.2 4K compliant) with an old Sony S590 BD player running through it for DTS-HD sound and then a Roku stick+ in Port 2. Any response would help...
Yup, looks like LG must have resolved the loud disc grind noise problem on the UP870/875 model, I've had mines for 4 months and it's quiet as a mouse. And one more thing, I actually have this player hooked directly to my Pioneer receiver which is hooked to my LG 43UJ6300 TV (don't have a Sony TV therefore can't answer that one).

TV: LG 43UJ6300 4K HDR TV
Audio: Denon AVR-S740H 7.2 A/V Receiver (running 7.1 surround sound)
Player(s): LG UP875 UHD Blu-ray player and Amazon Fire TV 4K (2017 release)
Game console(s): Xbox One X
Zoland2020 is offline  
post #84 of 146 Old 03-26-2018, 11:02 AM
Member
 
stonewahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoland2020 View Post
Yup, looks like LG must have resolved the loud disc grind noise problem on the UP870/875 model, I've had mines for 4 months and it's quiet as a mouse. And one more thing, I actually have this player hooked directly to my Pioneer receiver which is hooked to my LG 43UJ6300 TV (don't have a Sony TV therefore can't answer that one).
Thanks for the response! I will eventually buy a 4k receiver as the funds allow to make that the hub. Internet reviews on this player have been largely positive so it looks like this is an affordable way to get into the UHD disc scene.
Zoland2020 likes this.
stonewahl is offline  
post #85 of 146 Old 03-26-2018, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 1,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchas41 View Post
I picked up the 870 during the Walmart clearance and while I love how quick and responsive it is, there are two things driving me crazy. First, I see no way to disable Simplink which has proven to be a major PITA for me. I have all my cables run through the wall and into the basement where they terminate into an AV closet. Unfortunately, I failed to run an optical cable figuring I would use ARC. With the Simplink unable to be turned off, anytime I turn on my system with my harmony elite it wants to switch inputs to my UP870. Extremely annoying and I can't figure out a way to correct it. Secondly, I have recently had some issues with the player rebooting during playback. Happened twice last night while watching Doctor Strange 3d. It was a brand new disc so I'm not sure what's up with it but hoping it was just a fluke.
Simplink is a PITA. I think I am going to return 970 as every time I touch my LG TV remote, the 970 powers on, changes AVR input. Only solution I was told by LG support was to plug it into the TV. I am mounting this on the wall with one in-wall rated HDMI cable just like my older TV. ARC is needed.

Did you find a solution? I read almost this entire forum and have found nothing.
MoInSTL is offline  
post #86 of 146 Old 03-26-2018, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
jchas41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoInSTL View Post

Did you find a solution? I read almost this entire forum and have found nothing.
Yep, I spent the better part of a day fishing an optical cable through my walls and disabled CEC. I was experiencing exactly what you are, had the 870 turning on and switching inputs on my AVR constantly on its own. Disabled CEC and connected an optical cable from my TV to my AVR and all is resolved! Have only experienced the reboots with my Dr. Strange 3d disc, watched Antman 3d recently and it was perfectly fine - hoping it was just a fluke with that disc.
jchas41 is offline  
post #87 of 146 Old 03-26-2018, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 1,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchas41 View Post
Yep, I spent the better part of a day fishing an optical cable through my walls and disabled CEC. I was experiencing exactly what you are, had the 870 turning on and switching inputs on my AVR constantly on its own. Disabled CEC and connected an optical cable from my TV to my AVR and all is resolved! Have only experienced the reboots with my Dr. Strange 3d disc, watched Antman 3d recently and it was perfectly fine - hoping it was just a fluke with that disc.
Thanks for your response. I guess I have to just change manufacturer for now. Too bad as it is January, 2018 build and it's quiet and affordable.
MoInSTL is offline  
post #88 of 146 Old 03-27-2018, 05:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchas41 View Post
Yep, I spent the better part of a day fishing an optical cable through my walls and disabled CEC. I was experiencing exactly what you are, had the 870 turning on and switching inputs on my AVR constantly on its own. Disabled CEC and connected an optical cable from my TV to my AVR and all is resolved! Have only experienced the reboots with my Dr. Strange 3d disc, watched Antman 3d recently and it was perfectly fine - hoping it was just a fluke with that disc.
I don't understand what you're trying to do here. Are you running everything to your tv? You can turn off hdmi cec on individual devices and route it through the avr.

I have a 2017 LG and I need to run the apps to get atmos sound out of the tv via arc. I have cec on the receiver and tv and while it's a pita, it does get the audio out of the tv.

If the bd player has hdmi cec off and you have it plugged into the avr, why do you need an optical cable? Just for consistency?
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #89 of 146 Old 03-27-2018, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
jchas41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchas41 View Post
Yep, I spent the better part of a day fishing an optical cable through my walls and disabled CEC. I was experiencing exactly what you are, had the 870 turning on and switching inputs on my AVR constantly on its own. Disabled CEC and connected an optical cable from my TV to my AVR and all is resolved! Have only experienced the reboots with my Dr. Strange 3d disc, watched Antman 3d recently and it was perfectly fine - hoping it was just a fluke with that disc.
I don't understand what you're trying to do here. Are you running everything to your tv? You can turn off hdmi cec on individual devices and route it through the avr.

I have a 2017 LG and I need to run the apps to get atmos sound out of the tv via arc. I have cec on the receiver and tv and while it's a pita, it does get the audio out of the tv.

If the bd player has hdmi cec off and you have it plugged into the avr, why do you need an optical cable? Just for consistency?

The 870 doesn’t have a CEC off, so if you have ARC on the 870 doesn’t behave. It’s one of the only devices I have seen that doesn’t have an off for hdmi control. To make matters worse it constantly wrestled for control when switching inputs on an avr. I have an LG OLED and it was ridiculous, every time I tried to use a device the 870 would turn itself on and switch to its input. So, it was either switch ultra 4k players or run an optical cable.
jchas41 is offline  
post #90 of 146 Old 03-27-2018, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Well that sucks, that's the same setup I have. I guess I need a hdmi switcher because I'm struggling with my Denon and cec. I am waiting for a 4k disc to arrive before I use the player.
gregoryperkins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off