Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 94 Old 11-28-2017, 05:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrym303 View Post
Hi, I just purchased a M8500. Details in the Blu-ray player deal thread.


Here is my set up:

Set = Samsung Um65Ks8000
AVR Yamaha RX-V3800 (HDMI 1.3, no ARC) to set input 4
Roku Utra 4640 (2016) video Hdmi to set input 2, audio optical to AVR
2 Dish VIP722k DVRs Hdmi to AVR to Set
Samsung UBD-8500m video HDMI to set input 1, audio optical to AVR
All wired ethernet with consistent 70mbps internet download speed
Entire setup controlled with Harmony One remote
I hace CEC set to off on KS8000. My Harmony can set inputs, etc and I can't use ARC anyway.
I only run two speakers, so I will just set audio to PCM on the M8500. Speakers are Tyler Acoustics Taylo Reference Monitors.

I have slogged through this entire thread for info on settings. Here is what I found:

8500 set deep color off
8500 set color to 4:4:4
May need to force 1080 on 8500
KS8000 can have UHD color for input 1 set to on or off. If this is true, I will prefer off as ANY input set to UHD Color On causes havoc with my sound on various sources.

Let me know if I missed something

It looks like current FW is 1108.5

Thanks to Rudy1 for all of the inside info in this thread.
May need to force 1080 on 8500 For optimal PQ, set this output to AUTO...the scaler in the BDP is better than the one in the TV.

KS8000 can have UHD color for input 1 set to on or off. If this is true, I will prefer off as ANY input set to UHD Color On causes havoc with my sound on various sources. Setting this to ON is desired to optimize the picture for 50p/60p 4:4:4 and 4:2:2 UHD signals, so I would suggest moving the UBD-M8500 to HDMI 3 on the One Connect Box. Connect the Dish output (from the AVR) to HDMI 1 on the OCB.
Why do you think the BDP M8500 has a better scaler than the KS8000 (I have the curved KS 8500, so this intrigues me). No, I'm not being sarcastic either, it's an honest question. I figured that most of the high end 4k tvs would have either the same, or better scaling than just about every BDP. Looking for insightful feedback please!

Thank you!
HTnerd41 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 94 Old 12-09-2017, 08:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,648
Mentioned: 186 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1894 Post(s)
Liked: 3143
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTnerd41 View Post
Why do you think the BDP M8500 has a better scaler than the KS8000 (I have the curved KS 8500, so this intrigues me). No, I'm not being sarcastic either, it's an honest question. I figured that most of the high end 4k tvs would have either the same, or better scaling than just about every BDP. Looking for insightful feedback please!

Thank you!
Sent you a PM.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #63 of 94 Old 12-19-2017, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Layton, UT
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I should get my UBD-M8500 delivered today. Quick question for the group.

Netflix says that select 4k UHD titles carry Dolby Atmos encoding. Does the M8500 allow the streaming of said select titles with the Atmos audio signal? Netflix only lists the Xbox One/S/X as compatible with Atmos streaming on their UHD content.
MarshMPH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 94 Old 12-19-2017, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,648
Mentioned: 186 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1894 Post(s)
Liked: 3143
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarshMPH View Post
I should get my UBD-M8500 delivered today. Quick question for the group.

Netflix says that select 4k UHD titles carry Dolby Atmos encoding. Does the M8500 allow the streaming of said select titles with the Atmos audio signal? Netflix only lists the Xbox One/S/X as compatible with Atmos streaming on their UHD content.
The hardware is there, and works with other streaming services (such as Vudu) for decoding of Atmos audio. However, Netflix would have to specifically "approve" the UBD-M8500 for Atmos audio support in order for it to work. I have not seen anything to indicate they've done so at this point.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #65 of 94 Old 12-26-2017, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Purchased the UHD-M8500 for Christmas and got several 4K titles to watch and noticed a problem right off the bat. Initially, I thought I had a bad disc, so I put in another, and another, and another. We've now watched 4-5 titles in 4K on my Samsung KS8000 series TV and every single one experiences audio and video cutout for about 2 seconds at random intervals throughout the film. Sometimes it's 2 minutes between, sometimes it's 20 minutes. I have tried two different HDMI cables, one being Monoprice certified premium. I've reset the player. None of this helps. Any suggestions?

Last edited by msugeek; 12-26-2017 at 09:37 AM. Reason: Correct model numbers
msugeek is offline  
post #66 of 94 Old 12-26-2017, 07:04 PM
Member
 
ilal2ielli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by msugeek View Post
Purchased the UHD-M8500 for Christmas and got several 4K titles to watch and noticed a problem right off the bat. Initially, I thought I had a bad disc, so I put in another, and another, and another. We've now watched 4-5 titles in 4K on my Samsung KS8000 series TV and every single one experiences audio and video cutout for about 2 seconds at random intervals throughout the film. Sometimes it's 2 minutes between, sometimes it's 20 minutes. I have tried two different HDMI cables, one being Monoprice certified premium. I've reset the player. None of this helps. Any suggestions?
Swap out the unit at your retailer?
ilal2ielli is offline  
post #67 of 94 Old 12-27-2017, 12:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Swapped out the cables to a new monoprice certified high speed cable again last night, changed a couple of settings on the unit and the tv and watched about 30+ minutes with no issues. Maybe it's fixed.
msugeek is offline  
post #68 of 94 Old 12-28-2017, 09:15 PM
Member
 
beetlejuice247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by msugeek View Post
Swapped out the cables to a new monoprice certified high speed cable again last night, changed a couple of settings on the unit and the tv and watched about 30+ minutes with no issues. Maybe it's fixed.
I actually have the m9500 which is basicaly the same thing and had this issue right off of the start. I was trying everything to figure it out thinking it was the player itself, but it wasn't. It ended up being my toslink cable and toslink switch.
I have an old Sony AVS that only has toslink. I am upgrading to a better AVS.
So it's defiently related to a cable be it hdmi or toslink. Hopefully you fixed it with the new hdmi cable.
beetlejuice247 is offline  
post #69 of 94 Old 12-29-2017, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,796
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1731 Post(s)
Liked: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by msugeek View Post
Purchased the UHD-M8500 for Christmas and got several 4K titles to watch and noticed a problem right off the bat. Initially, I thought I had a bad disc, so I put in another, and another, and another. We've now watched 4-5 titles in 4K on my Samsung KS8000 series TV and every single one experiences audio and video cutout for about 2 seconds at random intervals throughout the film. Sometimes it's 2 minutes between, sometimes it's 20 minutes. I have tried two different HDMI cables, one being Monoprice certified premium. I've reset the player. None of this helps. Any suggestions?
Welcome to the world of Samsung UHD! I had 3 (!) K8500's that did this...and then I gave up and got the Panny (see sig). The irony is Sammy made good BD players (I still have an old one), but their UHD players don't seem to be able to make it through a movie.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #70 of 94 Old 12-29-2017, 12:57 PM
Member
 
beetlejuice247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
Welcome to the world of Samsung UHD! I had 3 (!) K8500's that did this...and then I gave up and got the Panny (see sig). The irony is Sammy made good BD players (I still have an old one), but their UHD players don't seem to be able to make it through a movie.
See my post above. You went through 3 players.....and it wasnt the player at all. It was one of your cables.....whatever one it might have been.
beetlejuice247 is offline  
post #71 of 94 Old 12-30-2017, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,796
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1731 Post(s)
Liked: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by beetlejuice247 View Post
See my post above. You went through 3 players.....and it wasnt the player at all. It was one of your cables.....whatever one it might have been.
Then why does the Panny work just fine with the same cables (and same settings)?
Not saying you didn't have cable issues, but I know my HDMI cables weren't the problem.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #72 of 94 Old 01-01-2018, 07:24 PM
Member
 
beetlejuice247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
Then why does the Panny work just fine with the same cables (and same settings)?
Not saying you didn't have cable issues, but I know my HDMI cables weren't the problem.
Just because they work fine with a different player doesnt mean it still isnt the cable. I had an old Sony player that had issues with an HDMI cable 3 years ago, but the Samsung player in the next room was fine. Switched cables and worked. It's weird but it does happen. Who knows why.
beetlejuice247 is offline  
post #73 of 94 Old 01-04-2018, 03:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi to all for the great forum!

I'm new here and have a question on the 8500 which is, can the upscaling feature be turned off? I recently purchased a TCL P605 (the BB version) which review sites claim has a good upscaler built in. I haven't purchased the UBD-8500 yet but like the fact that it has HDMI audio out which would be hooked up to my Sony STR-DH550.

Thanks
Tom
JackpineSavage is offline  
post #74 of 94 Old 01-04-2018, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,648
Mentioned: 186 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1894 Post(s)
Liked: 3143
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackpineSavage View Post
Hi to all for the great forum!

I'm new here and have a question on the 8500 which is, can the upscaling feature be turned off? I recently purchased a TCL P605 (the BB version) which review sites claim has a good upscaler built in. I haven't purchased the UBD-8500 yet but like the fact that it has HDMI audio out which would be hooked up to my Sony STR-DH550.

Thanks
Tom
Your cannot connect the UBD-M8500 to your Sony AVR...this receiver is not HDCP 2.2-compliant and will not support copy-protected 4K video content. You need the UBD-M9500, which does have a separate HDMI audio out jack (the M8500 has only one HDMI out jack for both video and audio). Also, you need to know that the only way to disable upscaling (for 1080p content) is to manually select 1080p as the output each time you want to bypass the Blu-Ray player's scaler.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #75 of 94 Old 01-05-2018, 05:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
M8500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Your cannot connect the UBD-M8500 to your Sony AVR...this receiver is not HDCP 2.2-compliant and will not support copy-protected 4K video content. You need the UBD-M9500, which does have a separate HDMI audio out jack (the M8500 has only one HDMI out jack for both video and audio). Also, you need to know that the only way to disable upscaling (for 1080p content) is to manually select 1080p as the output each time you want to bypass the Blu-Ray player's scaler.
Yup I had it confused with the 9500 and perhaps another brand. Thanks for the clarification. I could connect direct to the P605 and use ARC for audio to the AVR which fortunately works without a hitch. I had considered upgrading the receiver but since I have a 5.1 audio setup and will be staying with that upgrading makes no sense to me.

Seems odd they would have it default to using the upscaler every time. My current Blu-Ray player has the option of turning it off completely for standard DVD's.

Thanks for your time.
JackpineSavage is offline  
post #76 of 94 Old 01-09-2018, 07:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,648
Mentioned: 186 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1894 Post(s)
Liked: 3143
Originally posted by bobbino421:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#5c0af892421a

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #77 of 94 Old 05-09-2018, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Yankees24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampa,Florida
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 76
I ordered an M8500 and its on its way. I'm currently using and xbox1s as a player. Has anyone compared the two ?

Think before you speak....
Yankees24 is offline  
post #78 of 94 Old 05-10-2018, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I've got the M8500 model. Does it give the option to output BT.2020 in SDR? Must it be connected to a 10 bpc device? Does 8 bpc + FRC work too?
Optimus_Fine is offline  
post #79 of 94 Old 05-11-2018, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkyYYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 175
4:4:4 @ 60p is 8 bit output. You might get 10 bit if you enable deep colour @ 24p. Maybe someone else knows.
SkyYYZ is offline  
post #80 of 94 Old 05-12-2018, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Yankees24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampa,Florida
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankees24 View Post
I ordered an M8500 and its on its way. I'm currently using and xbox1s as a player. Has anyone compared the two ?

I’ve had it for a couple of days and hands down it’s better than the Xbox One S

Think before you speak....
Yankees24 is offline  
post #81 of 94 Old 05-16-2018, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Yankees24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampa,Florida
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 76
I have a 4k player (samsung m8500) and my 4k tv is the Sony xbr850e. I can enable 24hz for film based discs on both if I wanted to. Should I let the player do it or the tv ?....

Think before you speak....

Last edited by Yankees24; 05-16-2018 at 03:31 PM. Reason: Brand
Yankees24 is offline  
post #82 of 94 Old 05-16-2018, 07:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Yankees24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampa,Florida
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Do you let the player do the 24hz processing or the TV for film?...my Sony has an option for it as well.
Yankees24 is offline  
post #83 of 94 Old 05-17-2018, 04:40 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 34,978
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5619 Post(s)
Liked: 7926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankees24 View Post
Do you let the player do the 24hz processing or the TV for film?...my Sony has an option for it as well.
Let the player do it. Movie content on Blu-ray is already /24. The setting let’s the player output that as is instead of converting it to /60.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #84 of 94 Old 05-17-2018, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 5,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Just picked one of these up cheap, hope I didn't make a mistake. All I want is to play the occasional UHD disk. Just got the TCL 55R615 with the Roku streamer build in with Dolby and HRD, so not really interested in that aspect. I guess the question I have does the optical output support all formats? I have an older Onkyo receiver TX-RN807 while it does not have Atmos, it plays about anything else out there. I does have the option for height speakers, I opted for width, but just mainly concerned since I have to use optical. Will run the HDMI direct to the display as the receiver does not support 4K.

Had considered getting a unit with dual outputs, the the price got me. From what I read the UHD performance is top notch, and that is what I mostly care about.
Matt L is offline  
post #85 of 94 Old 06-19-2018, 06:22 AM
Member
 
yepimonfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I have an Sdr 4k TV, anybody know which of the sdr gamma Curves looks best or what they do exactly?

Sent from my LM-X210(G) using Tapatalk
yepimonfire is offline  
post #86 of 94 Old 06-19-2018, 06:43 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 34,978
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5619 Post(s)
Liked: 7926
Quote:
Originally Posted by yepimonfire View Post
I have an Sdr 4k TV, anybody know which of the sdr gamma Curves looks best or what they do exactly?

Sent from my LM-X210(G) using Tapatalk
I don’t have this player, but technically Gamma is the shape of the response curve between black and white. I.E., how much you have to increase a pixel’s luminance value to get a certain perceived brightness change the eye will see. This is not a term typically applied to HDR to SDR conversion, but I’m guessing they mean whether the conversion is biased more towards preserving near Black details or more towards preserving highlites. If so, you would adjust to taste.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #87 of 94 Old 06-20-2018, 08:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: TAIWAN
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anybody knows if I use with Samsung TV (KS7000) , TV and player both have Movie Mode in picture setting.
If I want to enable Movie Mode ,I need to setup on my TV or Player? Both??
Thanks!
HarryLin is offline  
post #88 of 94 Old 07-10-2018, 08:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 4,721
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2588 Post(s)
Liked: 2900
Question, has anyone had any issues streaming Amazon? For some reason I'm losing signal intermittently while streaming. My chain is player to receiver to tv. Thanks in advance.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #89 of 94 Old 07-11-2018, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,154
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1643 Post(s)
Liked: 991
Can someone pls confirm if this player has FandangoNow 4K app? Thnx.
b0rnarian is offline  
post #90 of 94 Old 07-15-2018, 01:54 AM
Member
 
yepimonfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Yup
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Can someone pls confirm if this player has FandangoNow 4K app? Thnx.
Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
yepimonfire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off