Forum Jump: 
 155Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 726 Old 12-13-2018, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1288 Post(s)
Liked: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by dracolnyte View Post
Yup certified HDMI 2.0 cables from prime cables into HDMI port 1 of my Vizio. I guess it doesn't hurt to try port 2
Just checking to see that you weren't using Port 5, which doesn't support HDR and that you aren't connecting via an AVR that doesn't support DV pass through. I asume you have Full UHD color enabled at the Vizio port as well.
PlanetAVS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 726 Old 12-13-2018, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
dracolnyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Just checking to see that you weren't using Port 5, which doesn't support HDR and that you aren't connecting via an AVR that doesn't support DV pass through. I asume you have Full UHD color enabled at the Vizio port as well.
I didn't have Full UHD color enabled but that shouldn't turn the player into an 8bit color machine. Anyway, I factory-reset the machine and it fixed the DV on auto mode. but after a while of playing netflix to test it out, the BDP player pooped out on me now it would not display anything. I unplugged it from the power to hard reset it, but now it would not turn on. going to have to exchange.

Edit: just tried a different port with a different HDMI 2.0 cable, same issue, the player would play DV videos normally, then 5 minutes in, the connection or screen starts blanking out until the whole machine freezes then I have to hard reset.

Last edited by dracolnyte; 12-13-2018 at 08:23 PM.
dracolnyte is offline  
post #693 of 726 Old 12-14-2018, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
dracolnyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just had my Philips Blu-ray replaced during lunch hour, initially it had the same issue as well in Netflix DV films where the screen out black in and out then freeze on me. Then I performed a soft power cycle reset on my TV (Vizio P55-F1, quick start = on) by holding the remote power button for 10 seconds. now everything is working fine. I was able to watch a DV film for 20 minutes with no issues. Will test out with new blu-rays that came in today after work.
dracolnyte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #694 of 726 Old 12-15-2018, 09:36 AM
Member
 
zredsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting freezing a few minutes into Planet Earth II. It's always in the same spot, where the fish tries breaking open a clam. First time I've had a freeze issue with this device over my 50 disc library. I'm thinking of sending the disc back, but it's in perfect condition with no visible smudges, etc. I'm wondering if this is just common to this device and Planet Earth II. Disappointing.
zredsox is offline  
post #695 of 726 Old 12-15-2018, 10:09 AM
Newbie
 
dracolnyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dracolnyte View Post
Just had my Philips Blu-ray replaced during lunch hour, initially it had the same issue as well in Netflix DV films where the screen out black in and out then freeze on me. Then I performed a soft power cycle reset on my TV (Vizio P55-F1, quick start = on) by holding the remote power button for 10 seconds. now everything is working fine. I was able to watch a DV film for 20 minutes with no issues. Will test out with new blu-rays that came in today after work.
OK found out the real culprit of my Philips UHD with Vizio P55-F1 TV, the HDMI port 1 is Arc and the TV was probably expecting only video would pass through. Plugged it in HDMI port 2 and it's all smooth, Netflix and discs
dracolnyte is offline  
post #696 of 726 Old 12-16-2018, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by zredsox View Post
I'm getting freezing a few minutes into Planet Earth II. It's always in the same spot, where the fish tries breaking open a clam. First time I've had a freeze issue with this device over my 50 disc library. I'm thinking of sending the disc back, but it's in perfect condition with no visible smudges, etc. I'm wondering if this is just common to this device and Planet Earth II. Disappointing.
It's odd. I played the entirety of Planet Earth II in my Philips without a single hiccup.
Flickpal is online now  
post #697 of 726 Old 12-16-2018, 08:41 AM
Member
 
zredsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hoping it's just a disc anomaly that can't be seen by the naked eye. I ended up requesting another one from Amazon. I'll report back.
zredsox is offline  
post #698 of 726 Old 12-16-2018, 10:38 AM
Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW INdiana
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I picked up the 7502 this past week to pair it up with my 65R617 TCL TV. Very pleased so far. I have not watched a standard DVD in it yet, but Blu Ray look amazing, as do the three or four 4K HDR movies I have watched. I haven't experienced any issues with it yet. I won't use it for any streaming, but the updates were fast and the player is very quiet.

bungi43 is offline  
post #699 of 726 Old 12-16-2018, 04:06 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 34,473
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8427 Post(s)
Liked: 5319
Quote:
Originally Posted by bungi43 View Post
I picked up the 7502 this past week to pair it up with my 65R617 TCL TV. Very pleased so far. I have not watched a standard DVD in it yet, but Blu Ray look amazing, as do the three or four 4K HDR movies I have watched. I haven't experienced any issues with it yet. I won't use it for any streaming, but the updates were fast and the player is very quiet.
I agree with the picture quality. But the two 7502 players I have owned were the noisest BD players I have owned since the BD launch in 2006. Well except for the game consoles.
Of course no BD player is silent. That is impossible. But my 7502 players are more easily heard than any of the other twenty or so BD players I have owned since 2006. But for the very low price I paid, I am happy with the 7502.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 12-16-2018 at 04:09 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #700 of 726 Old 12-16-2018, 07:13 PM
Member
 
bungi43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW INdiana
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I agree with the picture quality. But the two 7502 players I have owned were the noisest BD players I have owned since the BD launch in 2006. Well except for the game consoles.
Of course no BD player is silent. That is impossible. But my 7502 players are more easily heard than any of the other twenty or so BD players I have owned since 2006. But for the very low price I paid, I am happy with the 7502.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
That's weird. Mine is super quiet.
Hopefully it stays that way.

bungi43 is offline  
post #701 of 726 Old 12-18-2018, 06:48 AM
Member
 
zredsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zredsox View Post
I'm hoping it's just a disc anomaly that can't be seen by the naked eye. I ended up requesting another one from Amazon. I'll report back.
Thankfully, the new Blue Planet II disc works perfectly so it was an error with the previous disc.
zredsox is offline  
post #702 of 726 Old 12-22-2018, 08:21 PM
Member
 
zredsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zredsox View Post
Thankfully, the new Blue Planet II disc works perfectly so it was an error with the previous disc.
I should have watched further. About 3 minutes past the freeze on the other disc, there is a freeze. So I skipped a chapter and there was a freeze almost right away. So I skipped another chapter and there was a freeze. And the next chapter and the next chapter.

Yep. It's unwatchable.
zredsox is offline  
post #703 of 726 Old 12-23-2018, 07:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 41
That's horrible. Has it frozen up on any other UHD discs or is this release an anomaly? I never had a problem with either the Philips 7501 or its replacement the 7502.
Flickpal is online now  
post #704 of 726 Old 12-23-2018, 11:20 AM
Member
 
zredsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flickpal View Post
That's horrible. Has it frozen up on any other UHD discs or is this release an anomaly? I never had a problem with either the Philips 7501 or its replacement the 7502.
I've never had a problem with another UHD disc, I have about 50 in my collection. My only thought is that it is a persistent manufacturing defect with this bin of that particular title. I'm already in the process of sending it back and will try a different vendor (other than Amazon) and see if that resolves the issue.
zredsox is offline  
post #705 of 726 Old 12-23-2018, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1288 Post(s)
Liked: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by zredsox View Post
I've never had a problem with another UHD disc, I have about 50 in my collection. My only thought is that it is a persistent manufacturing defect with this bin of that particular title. I'm already in the process of sending it back and will try a different vendor (other than Amazon) and see if that resolves the issue.
You might want to try the Planet Earth II/Blue Planet II combo pack. Much better value.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #706 of 726 Old 12-23-2018, 11:40 AM
Member
 
zredsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
You might want to try the Planet Earth II/Blue Planet II combo pack. Much better value.
I actually already have Planet Earth II. Absolutely love it.
zredsox is offline  
post #707 of 726 Old 12-26-2018, 07:05 PM
Member
 
smdelaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Greater Boston, MA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Philips BDP7502 Price Spike

What's up with the pricing on this player??
It was discounted pretty nicely on Amazon just before Christmas and since then it has jumped more that 60%

"You keep using that word...I do not think it means what you think it means."

-Steve-

Denon AVR-X2400H, 2 HEOS 3HS2's
The rest: old, with incremental upgrades in progress...
smdelaney is online now  
post #708 of 726 Old 12-26-2018, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,211
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5890 Post(s)
Liked: 5377
Quote:
Originally Posted by smdelaney View Post
What's up with the pricing on this player??

It was discounted pretty nicely on Amazon just before Christmas and since then it has jumped more that 60%


As they say you snooze you lose. The prices always fluctuate have for many many months.
Ph8te is offline  
post #709 of 726 Old 12-26-2018, 07:38 PM
Member
 
smdelaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Greater Boston, MA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 41
^^^^^^^
I've been following it, too...still not ready to buy as I don't even have the 4K UHD TV yet...but a $100 price swing seemed a bit much.

"You keep using that word...I do not think it means what you think it means."

-Steve-

Denon AVR-X2400H, 2 HEOS 3HS2's
The rest: old, with incremental upgrades in progress...
smdelaney is online now  
post #710 of 726 Old 12-31-2018, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 313
I've been working with Logitech for the past month or so trying to get them to fix the settings for the 7302 (Sam's Club model no.) so that it can be controlled by a Harmony remote. Previously, if you wanted to control the 7302 with a Harmony remote, you had to set it up using the 7502 model number.

Logitech has tried fixing the settings several times, and I still am having issues, but it is conceivable it might be something with my Harmony Hub (although it does work with the settings for the 7502).

If anybody gets their Harmony remote working using the 7302 model number, would you please just post it on this thread and I'll check back from time to time to let Logitech know whether they fixed it.

Thanks.
smitty is offline  
post #711 of 726 Old 12-31-2018, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Does anybody else have slow response times in using the eject button or even the power button? Quite often I feel like I have to press the eject button twice to get it to operate, and the power button seems a bit slow also. Just wondering if anybody else has experienced this.
smitty is offline  
post #712 of 726 Old 12-31-2018, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2110 Post(s)
Liked: 1602
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
Does anybody else have slow response times in using the eject button or even the power button? Quite often I feel like I have to press the eject button twice to get it to operate, and the power button seems a bit slow also. Just wondering if anybody else has experienced this.
Do you have quick start off? Mine works that way when quick start is turned off, but it's much more responsive when quick start is on, although I do still on rare occasion have that issue with the physical eject button.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #713 of 726 Old 12-31-2018, 08:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Do you have quick start off? Mine works that way when quick start is turned off, but it's much more responsive when quick start is on, although I do still on rare occasion have that issue with the physical eject button.
I did have it off. Thanks for the tip.
morphinapg likes this.
smitty is offline  
post #714 of 726 Old 01-04-2019, 12:15 AM
Senior Member
 
TrueDis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Can anyone who has one of these players tell me if they play back SACD? If so will it bitstream DSD to the receiver?

LG OLED65B6P
Marantz SR7010 driving 5.1.4
Klipsch RP-280FA Atmos Towers (Front) | RP-250C (Center) | R-115SW (Sub)
Pioneer SP-EFS73 Atmos Towers (Rear)
TrueDis is offline  
post #715 of 726 Old 01-04-2019, 07:16 AM
Member
 
pashine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueDis View Post
Can anyone who has one of these players tell me if they play back SACD? If so will it bitstream DSD to the receiver?
This is a link to the specs of the 7502 (Canada) - No, it does not play SACD.
http://www.philips.ca/c-p/BDP7502_F...specifications

You most likely want to look at the Sony UBP-X700 for SACD and DSD support.
TrueDis likes this.

Vizio P55-C1, Oppo BDP-103, Philips BDP7502, Pioneer VSX-1130-K,
Mordaunt Short Mezzo 6, B&W DM600 S3, B&W PV1

Last edited by pashine; 01-04-2019 at 07:20 AM. Reason: more info added
pashine is offline  
post #716 of 726 Old 01-05-2019, 10:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Are you able to play 4k uhd files on this through usb? I tried to connect my external drive and it only showed the 1080 files. Is there a trick to playing the 4k uhd files?
Micker99 is offline  
post #717 of 726 Old 01-05-2019, 01:39 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 34,473
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8427 Post(s)
Liked: 5319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micker99 View Post
Are you able to play 4k uhd files on this through usb? I tried to connect my external drive and it only showed the 1080 files. Is there a trick to playing the 4k uhd files?
It has to be a file type it can play. And then of course like most players, it won't play back the Dolby TrueHD audio. Disc players typically are not very good devices for file playback. Although Oppo players were an exception. But they are not made any more.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #718 of 726 Old 01-10-2019, 05:43 PM
Member
 
sceavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi I bought the BDP 7502 when I play ATMOS tracks it's showing as truehd on the receiver have the player set to bit stream anybody have a suggestion on what is going wrong ?
sceavis is offline  
post #719 of 726 Old 01-10-2019, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2110 Post(s)
Liked: 1602
Quote:
Originally Posted by sceavis View Post
Hi I bought the BDP 7502 when I play ATMOS tracks it's showing as truehd on the receiver have the player set to bit stream anybody have a suggestion on what is going wrong ?
Atmos tracks have a TrueHD core. It's ultimately the same quality audio, it will just display as Atmos if you have both an Atmos compatible receiver, AND and Atmos compatible speaker set up. Otherwise it defaults to TrueHD. But there's no loss of audio quality in TrueHD, you just don't have the above head sound.

If you have both an atmos compatible receiver and speaker configuration, then I would suggest the issue is with your receiver, since Atmos is carried over the TrueHD signal, and your receiver should be recognizing that.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #720 of 726 Old 01-12-2019, 11:26 PM
Senior Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by sceavis View Post
Hi I bought the BDP 7502 when I play ATMOS tracks it's showing as truehd on the receiver have the player set to bit stream anybody have a suggestion on what is going wrong ?
please answer the following:

what receiver do you have and are you sure it's ATMOS capable?
what title are you having this issue with?
is it only one title or all ATMOS titles?
has this always been happening or did it just start happening?

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607.
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
bdp5502 , bdp7502 , ces 2017 , Philips , ultra hd blu-ray



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off