Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 06-02-2018, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 107
How to get Dolby Surround out of 2.0 on PS4 Apps?

I seem to be missing something. If content on an app, like say Youtube or Vudu, only has 2.0 stereo as the audio, then that's all the PS4 will transmit when set to PCM or Bitstream. A full 5.1 channel signal is sent, despite the fact that only the front two speakers are being used. There's no way to set my receiver to upmix the 2.0 to Dolby Surround, correct? Is there an option that I'm not seeing to fix this so I can get Dolby Surround out of 2.0 stereo? Thanks.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 06-03-2018, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post
I seem to be missing something. If content on an app, like say Youtube or Vudu, only has 2.0 stereo as the audio, then that's all the PS4 will transmit when set to PCM or Bitstream. A full 5.1 channel signal is sent, despite the fact that only the front two speakers are being used. There's no way to set my receiver to upmix the 2.0 to Dolby Surround, correct? Is there an option that I'm not seeing to fix this so I can get Dolby Surround out of 2.0 stereo? Thanks.

Does your receiver have Dolby Pro-Logic or PLIIx or PLIIz available as soundfields? If so, engage one of those when a 2 channel source is output via DD.
bradman is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 06-04-2018, 09:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Yes, my Denon has all of the Dolby Surround options, but I can't utilize them because the PS4 is always sending a 5.1 signal, whether set to Linear PCM or Bitstream (Dolby or DTS).
QuiGonJosh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 06-11-2018, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NuSoardGraphite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post
Yes, my Denon has all of the Dolby Surround options, but I can't utilize them because the PS4 is always sending a 5.1 signal, whether set to Linear PCM or Bitstream (Dolby or DTS).

Which Denon do you possess?


I have a Denon X2300W and it upmixes just fine. In both PCM or Bitstream mode.


I assume you have your PS4 connected via an HDMI cable?


My old Sony receiver I was using before I got my new Denon did NOT switch surround modes if it was receiving the phantom 5.1 signal (but sending only stereo sound) and that was quite frustrating, so I understand your pain.


But Denon has been very good for me when it comes to the different modes.

Stand tall and shake the heavens...
NuSoardGraphite is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 06-11-2018, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NuSoardGraphite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 453
are you hitting the movie, music, game mode buttons on your remote?

Stand tall and shake the heavens...
NuSoardGraphite is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 06-12-2018, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 107
I have a Denon S720W. The problem is that no matter what, the PS4 is sending a 5.1 signal, so I can't upmix it. It's not sending a 2.0 signal.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 06-15-2018, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NuSoardGraphite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 453
I notice mine is doing the same thing now. It used to be that some apps let it upmix and some apps stayed 2.0. (while sending a phantom 5.1 signal to the receiver). But when I switched it to LPCM, it would allow me to upscale everything just fine.


But not even when I switch it to LPCM it doesn't work. Its still sending phantom signals to my receiver which is preventing it from upmixing the signal.


I really wish they had mimicked the way the PS3 handled audio. It did it properly. This phantom 5.1 crap is frustrating.

Stand tall and shake the heavens...
NuSoardGraphite is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 06-22-2018, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Unfortunately, I'm glad I'm not alone I guess. Wish they would fix this.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 06-23-2018, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NuSoardGraphite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 453
When I get home from work I am going to test if changing the output on the PS4 from HDMI to Digital in the audio menu will fix this issue.

Stand tall and shake the heavens...
NuSoardGraphite is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-31-2018, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Any advice on this? I noticed that on certain things on Hulu I was getting 5.1 through PCM and not 2.0.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 11-13-2018, 10:54 AM
Member
 
evena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, finally found a thread describing exactly my problem! I described in detail on my receiver's page (Onkyo TX-NR636) but no help yet.

http://afterconvert.com/forum/90-re...l#post57065418

"Phantom 5.1" is a great description for what's going on and the PS4 is outputting. If it were indeed 2.0 my receiver could at least do something with it. With this "2.0 delivered in a 5.1 shell or phantom 5.1" my receiver can't help at all. Anyone figure out how to fix this yet?
evena is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 12-03-2018, 10:20 AM
Member
 
-DK-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This has been driving me mad for a little while now (since I got a new receiver).

By fluke i figured out a way that gets 2.0 out.

I have a headset plugged into the optical port on the PS4 and in order to have proper sound out I have to change the output to Optical whenever I'm using the headset.

I noticed that when i do that, the output to the receiver (HDMI) changes down to 2.0 which then allows my receiver to do normal operations to the signal.

So, you can try changing to optical out and see if that helps you.

Cheers
-DK- is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 12-11-2018, 09:28 AM
Member
 
evena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by -DK- View Post
I have a headset plugged into the optical port on the PS4 and in order to have proper sound out I have to change the output to Optical whenever I'm using the headset.

So, you can try changing to optical out and see if that helps you.
I wish, I have the PS4 slim which does not have an optical output so that option does not show up.
evena is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 01-10-2019, 09:11 PM
Newbie
 
I3andit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

I am having the exact same problem, its happening on both my PS4 Pro and my Xbox One X as well as my Nintendo switch. Any content that is in 2.0 will not up-mix to all of my speakers will only play in stereo. This happens when playing YouTube or any game not recorded in DD 5.1 as well as my Spectrum TV App. this just happened out of no where, a few weeks back everything was up-mixing just fine. This happens on both my Denon x2200w as well on my Sony STRDN1080. I tried Dolby Surround as well Neural x. I hope somebody knows what is causing this..
I3andit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply PlayStation Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off